Posted by: riverchilde | March 28, 2011

The grace of perspective

I was just posting a Facebook comment bemoaning the fact that my Girl Scout troop is leaving today for a two-day trip to a Wisconsin Dells waterpark without me. I was about to lament that it’s the first time in 12 years that I haven’t been able to accompany them on their outings, when I realized the blessing inherent in that statement. For 12 years, I’ve had the opportunity to share the adventures of this special group of girls, from our first sleepover at the Children’s Museum in first grade, to a three-day prairie campout on the Ingalls Homestead in South Dakota at the end of elementary school, to a weeklong international Girl Scout camporee on Treasure Island in the middle of the San Francisco Bay when they were 15–and all the smaller bits of new experiences we undertook together. While in some ways these memories make me even sadder that I’m not along on this nearly last time together (we still have one last encampment in May and a week of day camp together before they head off to college in the fall), my sorrow is tempered by the recognition of the grace inherent in being able to walk alongside them for 12 uninterrupted years as they’ve played, fought, succeeded, failed, learned, grown and developed. That is no small gift, and my regret over not going along today is tempered by my appreciation for God’s goodness is granting it to me.

Leave a Reply

Categories

